Categories
#lifestyle Life Thoughts

Thrown Opportunities…

Do not throw an opportunity because it doesn’t look pretty from the first sight 

A couple of days ago I went to the nearest National Park for a half of a day: walking around, exploring the area and giving myself some time alone to think about new starts, upcoming future and opportunities I don’t want to loose. 

I noticed this little piece of plant (unsure how to call it). “It would look pretty without that ugly yellow leaf”: someone would say and throw this leaf away from the ‘real beauty’.

Same way majority of us are throwing opportunities away out of their lives just because they don’t look pretty enough. They might look scaring, ugly, unattractive from the first sight. But generally the best opportunities are those that are not visible at the beginning – otherwise, they would be too obvious and already taken before you step up.

As Mark Cuban, famous American entrepreneur and investor, said: “Creating opportunities means looking where others are not”.

I believe in creating opportunities out of existing situations, resources and tools around. You can also wait for opportunities to arise around you but I would apply it to more investment opportunities rather than purely business ones (even though business is also an investment).

Waiting for opportunities is tricky – even if you finally see one, there is no guarantee that it hasn’t been taken yet by someone who is more proactive. 

So, there are two choices with business opportunities:

1. You either see an opportunity on your horizon and jump into it – you have to be brave and a bit mindless about it. The longer you think, analyse and evaluate your jumping steps, the lesser chance to catch this opportunity because someone crazy like me would already jump there to get it;

2. You can create your own – this is where you need to be observant and creative. Check what’s going on around on the market of your interest – I would say look for something this market is missing. Now you are off to go to be as creative as you can to fill these gaps. Find the demand generated by the gaps and introduce a unique way of filling these gaps.

I like more the second option as by creating your own opportunity, you also enable a way of seeking for more opportunities around your creation. 

I kept walking in the park – it looked more like a forest – and I looked up at these trees above me. New thoughts waved up my mind:

“How can I – being so tiny – achieve anything? what can I achieve ?”

The scaring truth of having limitations appeared in my mind. Not to the degree where I would decide to shut all my goals, ideas and aspirations in my mind; close down all my started projects and start living ordinary wage by wage life. 

Yes, it will be difficult. If you want a better life, you must be brave…and “a bit mindless” 🙂

Confidence. If you are lack of it, you have to fake it until you make it. Every time when I forget about it, I scroll my theatre acting lessons back in my mind. I managed to perform a leading role one day without a proper set of acting and stage skills – I just had two things: belief in myself being hungry taking on board every single acting lesson I could. I also had a huge amount of passion to do what I was doing. 

So, whether you take an opportunity or create one, push it till the end. The more you push it, the bigger achievement will arise on your journey. 

Love,

Ange (Original Source: https://www.secretmediaglobal.com/blog )

Leave a comment